

## Eastern Australia Ground Control Group

Meeting Enquiries

Andrew Campbell, Honorary Secretary Ph: 04 2764 7887

Email: andrew.campbell@maunsell.com Web: www.ausimm.com.au/main/branches/eagcq.php

Registration and Payments

c/- The AusIMM PO Box 660 Carlton South, Vic, 3053 Ph: (03) 9662 3166 Fax: (03) 9662 3662 Email: eagcg@ausimm.com.au

## Leading Edge Technology for Surface and Underground Ground Control **EAGCG ADELAIDE MEETING 1-2 November 2007**

The Eastern Australian Ground Control Group biannual meeting was recently held in Adelaide with great success. Building on the accomplishment of the previous meeting in Townsville another record attendance level was achieved. A wide range of representatives ensured lively discussions and varied presentations from site based and consulting geotechnical practitioners, students, researchers and industry suppliers. Sponsored student attendance has been a continued initiative from the Townsville meeting with five students attending and presenting a summary of their work. In addition, a small group attended a site tour to Olympic Dam on Wednesday 31st October in conjunction with the meeting. Special thanks to Grant Eggington and the team at Olympic Dam for making the site visit possible. Two dinners were also organised and were well supported.

Five keynote addresses were presented; Peter Lilly of the Minerals Down Under Flagship discussed future challenges for the mining industry, current research directions and the role of geomechanics. This was followed by Aleksander Mendecki from ISS who challenged the audience to better quantify and investigate seismic event data. Greg Hall from Toro Energy spoke at dinner about the nuclear energy industry and generated a lively debate around the engineering and societal challenges of nuclear power generation. On Friday, Paul Dunn, Director of WASM presented a series of rock mechanics challenges in Mining and Cameron Tucker from Beck Arndt Engineering spoke about probability, damage and excavation stability.

A short session was held around four key challenges to Mining Geomechanics in the future. The group engaged in a productive discussion and raised some significant factors that will need to be tackled if the industry is to avoid these problems. The main themes in the discussion were:

- Understanding ground behaviour
- Risk management
- Integration with business processes
- People (recruiting, retention, professional excellence)

Two prizes were awarded for the best presentation from each day, and one was awarded for a student presentation. Recipients were:

- Simon Jackson Blast monitoring and modelling in Mt Isa for UG blasting
- Ross Seedsman If mudstone is brittle perhaps all rocks are!
- Matt Helinski Effective stress approaches to backfill (Student Presentation)

Thanks again to the sponsors of this event (Minova, BOSFA, EPC, Rock Engineering, Oxiana, AMC Consultants, Geotechnical Systems, Geovert, Maptek and Maccaferri) for making the speakers' prizes, student sponsorships and dinners possible.

The AGM was held in the last session on Friday. The retirement of founding committee members Warren Peck and Ken Mills was acknowledged with a small presentation to thank them for their significant contribution to the EAGCG since its inception. Bryony Andrew has also retired from the committee. The remainder of the committee were re-elected along with some new members. The 2008 committee and executive is as follows:

Marnie Pascoe - BHP Billiton, Global Technology - President Danny Palhares - Pybar Meredith Goss - Coffey Mining - Secretary Tony Meyers - Rock Test Ben Roache - Mining One - Treasurer Kate Williams - Ballarat Goldfields Andrew Campbell - Maunsell Kevin Stacey - BHP Billiton, Olympic Dam Anna Gentle - BHP Billiton, Cannington Ross Seedsman - Seedsman Geotechnics

The next meeting is to be held in April 2008 in Wollongong on Stress Measurement, Monitoring and Modelling Techniques and their Design Applications. Please contact the committee eagcg@ausimm.com.au if you are interested in sponsoring or presenting at this event.

Thanks for a fantastic 2007 and looking forward to seeing you all in 2008 - The EAGCG Committee.



















