



Kate Williams, Honorary Secretary Email:<u>secretariat@eagcg.org</u> Web: <u>EAGCG Webpage</u>

**Registration and Payments** 

c/- The AusIMM PO Box 660 Carlton South, Vic, 3053 Ph: (03) 9662 3166 Fax: (03) 9662 3662

Email: <a href="mailto:eagcq@ausimm.com.au">eagcq@ausimm.com.au</a>

## EAGCG Workshop Newcastle Program Cutting Edge Technologies in Rock Mechanics 2011

The Eastern Australian Ground Control Group held the first of its bi-annual meetings recent in Newcastle, with **96** delegates attending. Two days were spent discussing a variety of cutting edge technologies applicable to the mining industry.

The meeting commenced with tours to Chain Valley Coal Mine, Bengalla Mine and Mt Owen Mine. A thankyou is extended to the mine management and staff from the three sites for conducting the tours.

The next two days were committed to the workshop. Presenters came from a wide variety of sources within the mining industry, these included suppliers of rock reinforcement and surface support products, monitoring equipment, rock reinforcement testing products, site based professionals, consultants and students. The topics covered by the presenters were as follows:-

- New rock reinforcement or surface support products
- · Rock reinforcement testing devices
- · Monitoring products and issues
- · Case studies
- · Modelling uncertainty
- Blasting technology
- · Rockfall software and research
- Modelling advances
- Coal Research

AMC Consultants provided prizes for the best speakers of each day. They went to:

- James Watt's (BHPB Olympic Dam) presentation on the use of the CALS void survey system for determining ore pass wear
- Frans Basson's (Newmont) presentation on the early progress of a three dimensional rock fall analysis program for use in open pits

The committee once again thank our sponsors: Maccaferri, Split Set Mining Systems, ES@S, Geofabrics, Bosfa, Coffey Mining, Geobrugg, EPC, DSI, AMC Consultants, Minova, Rock Australia, Jennmar, Mining One, Applied Concrete Solutions, Sika, Fero and BASF. Their support has again allowed the committee to put on a low cost, high quality event and is appreciated by all.

The next meeting will be held September or October 2011. The location and theme are still to be announced. Registrants will be kept informed of the details. Please contact the committee at <a href="mailto:eagcg@ausimm.com.au">eagcg@ausimm.com.au</a> for sponsorship and participation information and keep an eye on the website <a href="www.eagcg.org">www.eagcg.org</a> for details as they become available. If you know of personnel involved in the industry who would like to be added to the mailing list, please contact the committee (using the email address above) and forward as many contact details as possible.

Best Regards,

## **EAGCG Committee**

Meredith Goss – President Des Vlietstra – Treasurer Anthony De Veth Ben Jones Maya Chaustowski Kate Williams – Secretary Tony Meyers Jacqui Monk Adrian Pilcher Claudia Graf

















