

The Eastern Australia Ground Control Group held its second three-day meeting for 2010 in October in Adelaide. As always, the meeting was a big success and all attendees would have got a lot of important information from it.

The meeting commenced with tours to Terramin's Angus Zinc Mine and Hillgrove Resources's Kanmantoo Copper Mine. A thank you is extended to the mine management and engineers from the sites for conducting these tours.

The next two days were spent discussing various aspects of Ground Control Management Plans. Four interesting keynotes were presented:

- Stephen Priest presented a "personal journey" applying probabilistic analysis to rock slopes.
- Max Lee summarised the contents of Ground Control Management Plans.
- Tim Sullivan discussed the lessons learnt from the Yallourn coal mine batter failure.
- John Rodney presented the legal framework for OHS and Mining and the harmonisation of OHS laws commencing 01 January 2012.

In addition, seven case studies were presented in which sites discussed the implementation of their



Ground Control Management Plans. Presentations were also given on aspects of risk associated with caving and tunnelling, the role of the geological model, the perspective of the regulator and on chartered professional status.

AMC Consultants provided prizes for the best speakers of the day which went to:

- Peter Campi's presentation on GCMPs for civil tunnelling
- Uday Singh presentation on mine & risk management associated with the breakthrough of the Telfer sublevel cave into the active Telfer open pit

The EAGCG gives a big thank you to the sponsors of this and our previous events. These events represent important and unique sources of professional development to ground control practitioners. Without the ongoing support of our sponsors we would be hard pushed to keep on running the meetings and ensure that their high standards are maintained.

The AGM for the EAGCG concluded the program. The Treasurers Report was presented, a motion for incorporation was passed and updates to our website were highlighted. Ben Roache and Treasurer Anna Gentle resigned from their positions. The 2011 committee will comprise:

President: Meredith Goss - Mining One Consultants Secretary: Kate Williams – Newcrest Mining Treasurer: Des Viletstra – Elasto Plastic Concrete Anthony De Veth – AMC Consultants

Claudia Graf - Newmont Tanami Operations

Kevin Holley - SRK

Ben Jones - Halcrow Pacific Tony Meyers – Rocktest Consulting Jacqui Monk – Strata Engineering

Adrian Pilcher - DSI

The next meeting will be held in April or May 2011. Please contact the committee at eagcg@ausimm.com.au for sponsorship and participation information and keep an eye on our regularly changing website www.eagcg.org for details as they become available.

The Committee wishes all Members a safe and prosperous conclusion to 2010.

We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year!