Eastern Australia Ground Control Group - EAGCG

EAGCG Board Members

Bre-Anne Sainsbury

Bre-Anne Sainsbury

A/Prof & Associate Head of School (Curriculum), Deakin University


Bre-Anne is an experienced rock mechanics engineer. Throughout her career she has worked as a consultant, operations engineer and researcher for civil and mining projects.

Robyn Teet

Treasurer/Financial Secretary - Robyn Teet

Works Coordinator, Forbes Shire Council

BSc (Hon), MSc, MAusIMM

Robyn has worked across operational and consulting roles since graduating in 2011, primarily in the base metals sector. She has worked on open pit and underground projects both operationally and as a consultant and has been involved in projects from the exploration stage, all the way through to implementation and optimization. With a primary focus on safe, economic designs and operations, Robyn is currently working to further expand her geotechnical experience .

Secretary - Bridget Sladden

Geotechnical Engineer, AMC Consultants Pty Ltd

Des Vlietstra

Des Vlietstra

Technical Consultant Barchip

Gdip mining, MAusIMM

Des has over 35 years’ experience in the mining industry in both South Africa and Australia his earlier experience was as a Production shift boss, Rock Mechanics officer and Rock Mechanics Research Technician, where he was involved in mine layouts, developing support systems for seismically active environments, seismic monitoring of pillar layouts and extensive instrumentation and in situ stress measurements. The last 15 years being devoted to shotcrete. He has the Chamber of Mines certificate in Rock Mechanics, is an EFNARC nozzleman examiner and is currently completing his MSc(Eng) in Advanced Concrete Technology at the University of Leeds.

Tony Meyers

Tony Meyers

Principal Rock Mechanics Engineer, Rocktest

BE (Mining), PhD (Rock Mechanics), Dip (Finance)

Tony has worked for over 30 years in operational, consulting, research and academic roles in the mining (primarily open cut), civil and petroleum industries. He currently works for Rocktest Consulting which he founded in the mid-1990s to provide Rock Engineering services to these industries.

Jesse Franks

Geotechnical Engineer

Morteza Ghamgosar

Morteza Ghamgosar

Tunnel Engineer at DJV Aurecon and WSP

Morteza has more than six years of experience in geotechnical design, field investigations and laboratory experiments. He has focused on optimising methods for selecting geomaterial in engineering practices, numerical modelling, image processing, and laboratory tools development. He has a degree in mining engineering, masters in rock mechanics, and is currently completing a PhD at the University of Queensland.

Diane Mather

Diane Mather

Senior Principal Tunnel Engineer


Diane is an experienced Chartered Engineer with 20 years experience in project management and design management of a range of civil engineering and mining projects in Australia and United Kingdom. She has extensive knowledge of underground construction and ground support methodologies and sequences.